1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Metal halide bulb question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adampottebaum, Oct 18, 2009.

1. adampottebaum

adampottebaum Experienced Reefkeeper GIRS Member

Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    Hey, I was recently talking to a friend about what bulb to buy for my new halide fixture I bought recently. It has a pretty old bulb in it and I wanted to buy a new bulb and also have it very blue looking. The fixture is a 150 watt Aqua Medic(double ended HQI) hanging over a 35 gallon hex tank. I was told that the best bulb to buy was a 150 watt Hamilton 20K double ended HQI bulb. I'm new to halides and don't know much about the different bulbs. I know Radium's are supposed to be the best bulbs out there, but I heard the 20k's aren't as blue as other 20k halides. If anyone around Cedar Falls is using a pretty blue looking bulb I could check out let me know. Any input is appreciated!

Adam

2. Waverz

Waverz Expert Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I know 14k Hamiltons are very blue, i have never seen a 20k hamilton. Picking bulbs totally sucks if you can't see them with your own eyes. I just went with the Radium because it has great PAR and color. I am curious as to what others respond with here.

3. xroads Veteran Reefkeeper Vendor

La Porte City, IA
    Ratings:
    +1,014 / 6 / -0
    The 20K radiums have been around for 20 years, They are a tried & tested bulb, you wont go wrong at all.

The 20K will give you amazing colors & nice blue look. The trade off is that your growth will be much much slower.

4. adampottebaum

Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0