1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

TOTAL newbie intro.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Untamed Waters, Mar 14, 2009.

1. Well, my name is Daniel, I'm just thinking about getting into it, My brother has an account on here and I was kinda browsing around and saw some real cool stuff. I haven't ever really considered or thought about starting an aquarium, but after looking at reef aquariums (Please, tell me if any of my terminology is off.) I was thinking "Yeah, I wanna do one of those!" At this point I actually have nothing, however I know a guy from a class last term who told me that he'd sell me his aquarium that he never did anything with for fifteen dollars. (It's a twenty gallon tank) The tank also has not been leak tested, but for 15 bucks, not bad. Don't know if it's glass either. I've been reading through other sites (Mainly
    http://www.reefcentral.com
    Also, what else will I need to get stared? (Prices would be great too, I'm not sure how much I'll need. And I know is "all depends" But good stuff, but not necessarily near top of the line.)

2. REEFer Madness

REEFer Madness Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to the club and a lot of us on here started off just like you not too long ago.

First of all, fill that tank with water and see if it leaks or not. If it doesn't leak you'll just need some basic equipment at first with some live rock. A heater, filter, and lights. I would recommend softies at first until you'll feel comfortable for more delicate corals. To set you up with live rock and equipment should be around 200 to 400 bucks, just matters what brand and if you buy used or new.

BTW, who's your brother and where are you from?

3. I think his tag is fnvarner, and we're both from CR.
    EDIT : By the way, thanks for the response. I'll likely be LOOKING to start when I move here in about a month.

4. REEFer Madness

Ratings: