1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

The Great Reef Data Roundup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by isufishtank, Feb 11, 2019.

1. isufishtank

Ames, IA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Hello Reefers! My name is Evan and I am a student at Iowa State University and am doing analytical research for a data science course towards my minor. I have decided to incorporate my passion for reefing into this project and hopefully end up with some interesting and useful results! The more data I can gather, the better the results will be. Thanks so much if you do decide to take a little time out of your day to participate to help out an ISU student! Link for data form below:

The Great Reef Data Roundup

If you don't care too much about the specifics, go ahead and click the link above to participate. If you want to know a little more about the data I am collected and the way it will be analyzed, read on! I'm collecting data on reefing experience, tank size, sump size, approximate costs, and run time as well as types of livestock (coral and fish), methods of maintaining chemistry , and methods of nutrient export. Effectiveness of nutrient export, chemistry, and overall reefing success will be measured on a scale from 1-10. The inclusion of actual water parameters will also be optional. I will compare all of these factors in numerous ways to analyze and find patterns to present to the reefing community.