1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Taking the leap- 210 gallon set up

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RobynT, Jun 23, 2008.

1. RobynT

RobynT Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    All of my reef buddies know I've been thinking about going larger. Well, I found a great deal on a 210 gallon AGA tank, stand and canopy and now it's sitting in my garage!! Hubby (Mike) is being tolerant but I know he questions if this is going to keep me more distracted (probably) than I sometimes am. I am super stoked and can't wait to get it going!
    Here are the plans so far. The stand needs some rebuilding as it was an 8 ft long stand that we are cutting down to 6'. The previous owner had an extra tall cabinet on the end to house the skimmer and other equipment. Since Mike is a carpenter/cabinetmaker by trade, this won't be hard. It's currently painted black (which I like) and he's not keen about the color but it will make it easy to blend cosmetically after the modifications are done.
    Step two will be plumbing the tank(1st floor) to a basement Rubbermaid stock tank (100 gallon) sump in the basement. I am probably going to use a ReeFlo Hammerhead pump for return. I'm not sure about which skimmer I will get but I'm leaning towards a MSX 250 or Octopus Pro. If I was wealthy I may go with a "big name" skimmer but I'm reading good things about both of those skimmer, esp for the price.
    Lighting. Alas, the hood that came with my setup is wonderfullly setup to accept three Ice cap fixtures with fans in between each and two fans in the end of the hood (5 fans total built into this hood.) I really have my heart set on Lumen Bright reflectors (small ones)
    http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2008-06/review/index.php