1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Problems with high pH

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nuccatree, Apr 23, 2009.

1. nuccatree

nuccatree

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have been really battling high pH for the last few months.  I have used the acid buffer to try ot lower, complete multiple water changes, added active carbon, still it might drop but th3e next day it is back up.  Here is a little backgroud as well:  I use tap water (don't shoot me, but I have been doing it for 8 years with no problems, until now)  The tank is newer but used everything from an established tank.  Temp runs between 78-82 for the most part.  I have tried to drop it, but it is just a space problem.  I have been having red algee problems and have been dosing for this as well.  Also, when setting up this tank, I used some sand from a pervious tank I had.  the sand sat for a year in a sealed bucket, and I just trying to rinse it as good as I could.  My tank is a 47g cube and I have about 150-200 lbs of rock (true balancing act as the rock goes to the top of tank)  I have a cpr sump system that skims great and have a korilla 1 for additional circulation.  Also, I am running dual 175MH for 9 hr/day.  Any thoughts?

2. nuccatree

nuccatree

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Alos to note, my anenomes have really been mad at me for a while, won't extend. and my green star polys are not extending. my toadstool, finger, hammer,touch are all fine and growing.

3. snowman82

snowman82 Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    how long has this tank actually been up and going?

4. xroads Veteran Reefkeeper Vendor

La Porte City, IA
    Ratings:
    +1,014 / 6 / -0
    What is your actual number? Have you tried a different test kit to verify?

I am really surprised as most of us battle low PH. I would love to keep mine @ 8.4, but have a hard time keeping it above 8.0

5. nuccatree

nuccatree