1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Newb here

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Chris, Oct 23, 2009.

1. Chris

Chris Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hey guys, my name is Chris and I am brand new to the saltwater world.  I currently have two freshwater tanks set up, and am contemplating switching one over to SW.  I have 72 gallon full of African cichlids, and a 29 that I am probably going to switch over.  I live in a house with my wife, dog and cat, and the last three factors affect my ability to get a larger tank to set up[​IMG].  I'm hoping once i get this one setup, the wife will love it and want more.  My plans are to keep jsut a pair of clown fish, some live rock, and live sand in it.  Once things get more comfortable I wouldn't mind adding anenomies, or other fun stuff.  Just don't want to be ill prepared for something like that.  Here is what i am thinking (let me know what you think):
    -29 gallon with glass top, probably build a canopy over the top in the next 6 months
    -20-30 lbs of live rock
    -10-15 lbs of live sand
    -I would like to get away with a rena xp1 (don't have much room under or behind tank for a sump) or canister that is salwater safe (input needed here)
    -I have a 65 w pc light, but will most likely upgrade to a 4 or 6 bulb t5 light
    Here is where I stand in progress.  I am wondering if I should just sell my freshwater stock and supplies I have on the tank.  Cleanse thoroughly, and jsut set up with live rock and live sand, so I can get accustomed to doing saltwater changes, maintenance and just let it cycle for a while.  Would my 65w pc light be ok for that for the time being, given I have no stock in tank?
    I am open to any and all criticism, advice...anything....thanks
    Chris

2. vikubz Well-Known ReefKeeper

Cedar Falls
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS, you've come to the right spot!