1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

New to Saltwater

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bobsfish, Apr 13, 2009.

1. bobsfish

bobsfish Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hello GIRS !! I'm new to the world of saltwater fishkeeping. I've been keeping an assortment of African and New World cichlids for several years and have always wanted a saltwater tank. So...I recently took the plunge...I've been gathering equipment for the past year (literally!)...read the newbie book by Mike Paletta and the book by Bob Fenner. Last week, I finally put water in a tank - 60 gallon...put in some starter live sand and I'm off and running. I'm looking forward to the GIRS club....I have a lot to learn yet - I have many questions after just running for a few days, so I'm hoping to find some good feedback on this site....I'm afraid I don't have a lot to "share" yet, so I'll be in "leech-mode" for a period of time.

2. Shaun

Shaun Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Leech-mode is fine. We have all been there. The Conscientious Marine Aquarist is that the book you are talking about.

Any questions feel free to ask
    I am still learning but I have learned alot since I have started my tank
    Good Luck
    SHAUN

3. Shaun

Shaun Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Oh yeah when you are ready for corals we will set you up with some to get you started
    Where are you located

4. adampottebaum

adampottebaum Experienced Reefkeeper GIRS Member

Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    You did mix salt in the water before you put it in right? :)

Also, you should get familiar with how the site works and the different categories to look through. I know there was a couple people selling live rock not too long ago, they should still be in the buy/sell/trade forum and you could send them a P/M(Private Message) and ask them if they still have stuff to sell.