1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Tank Build! New to saltwater, 28 gallon tank

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 28gallonReef, Aug 30, 2016.

1. 28gallonReef

des moines
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I am new to the hobby, and I have started building my first reef tank. I think I have all the corals and fish I plan to add, please let me know if you have any tips or suggestions. Thanks

Fish: 2 oscelllarious clown fish, 1 firefish goby, 1 skunkback basslett

Inverts: RBTA, various snails, 3 long spikes sea urchins

Corals: Frogspawn, armeggeddon coral, green mushroom, hammer coral, not sure on a few of them

Filter: jbj protein skimmer, 25 lbs live rock

Flow: MJ 1200, jabao power head

Attached Files:

2. blackx-runner Administrator Website Team Leadership Team

Cedar Rapids, IA
    Ratings:
    +738 / 5 / -0
    Tank looks really good. How long has it been running?

3. 28gallonReef

des moines
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My tank has been running since the beginning of June, I will post better pictures some time later this week still trying to figure out the right lighting.

4. jeremy Acro Addict

Davenport, IA
    Ratings:
    +836 / 4 / -0
    What lighting are you running?

5. DangerJ Well-Known ReefKeeper

Des Moines, IA
    Ratings:
    +322 / 4 / -0
    You're off to a very good start!

6. 28gallonReef

des moines
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I am using MARS ebay lights

7. jeremy Acro Addict

Davenport, IA
    Ratings:
    +836 / 4 / -0
    Cool. I heard those lights work well.

8. 28gallonReef

des moines
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Here is a full photo of the tank, a few questions I have is how long until the clowns host the anemone and how long until my base rock will start to turn purple?

9. 28gallonReef

des moines
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    [​IMG]

10. Fishunt Nano Nano

Norwalk
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0