1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

new member in Altoona...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by gb387, Mar 27, 2008.

1. gb387

gb387 Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello, just signed up with this forum.  I plan on stopping by the frag swap at the zoo.
    I am fairly new to the saltwater/reef aquarium I have been around them for a few years but never owned one myself.  My g/f is the knowledge be hind our new little hobby since she has had a tank or two in the past. 
    A couple months ago we bought a 90 gallon wave front complete, with fish live rock, an anemone or two and all the stuff to keep it up an running...  Its been up for a couple years and maintained by the previous owner.  We move it to my house and had no trouble all went smoother than I thought it would and all is still going well.  The whole idea is getting a basic reef started (one reason we purchased this particular tank) and move on from there based on how well this works out for us.

2. slovan

slovan Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Brandon, welcome to GIRS! We have a lot of good members around the state to help you out with any questions you may have. Plus you are close to a lot of members in the Des Moines area. You will find that they are a fun-loving bunch and easy going. Hope you guys stick with it and enjoy this crazy hobby. /site/DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/_default/emoticons/smile.gif

3. Philby

Philby Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS!

Looking forward to meeting you at the frag swap.

There are plenty of people from the DM area, and we usually try to get together once a month so check out our forum for details.

4. gb387

gb387 Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the welcome!

5. Deleted member 46

Deleted member 46 Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS. Look forward to meeting you next week.