1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

New here.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by ckoeppel, Feb 10, 2009.

1. ckoeppel

ckoeppel Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello all!  I am new to the forums and wanted to introduce myself.  My name is Chris and I have been keeping salt water for about ten years.  I live outside of Cedar Rapids and currently have a 110 Gallon reef tank built into my wall.  I worked as a zookeeper at the Henry Doorly Zoo in Omaha for a few years before moving here.  I breed reptiles and have a company with a partner called Headhunter Reptiles.  I am hoping to get to know a few of you and share ideas.  I will post pics of the tank as soon as I can.  It is an acrilic tank with two homeade wave maker/surges.  A back up hard plumbed external pump.  A twenty gallon trickle filter that spills into a 150 gallon sump where my skimmer sits.  I run two 400W halides and flourescent actenics.  I keep your basic soft corals and some stoney, but the tank works a lot better with sps due to the high water flow and low temps.  (I struggle to keep the tank warm year round due to it being in the basement.) [​IMG]  Hit me up if you have any questions!

2. JB Veteran Reefkeeper

Marion
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS!

-JB

3. AJ

AJ Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS. There's a club get together on Thursday in CR which would be a great time to meet people. Hope to see you there.

--AJ

4. xroads Veteran Reefkeeper Vendor

La Porte City, IA
    Ratings:
    +1,014 / 6 / -0
    Sounds like an awesome set up, nice to have your experience here.

5. ckoeppel

ckoeppel Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks everyone!   I hope to make it, but I'm not sure work will allow.  Sounds fun though.

6. phishcrazee Experienced Reefkeeper

Riverside
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome!

7. got2lb Well-Known ReefKeeper