1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

New Guy from Silvis, IL

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Dystopia, Jan 2, 2009.

1. Dystopia

Dystopia Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi everyone!
    I am extremely new to the reefkeeping hobby, having only started to get into the research part. I have been keeping things in glass cages for as long as I can remember. Started out with keeping bullfrog tadpoles and have moved on to various types of freshwater fish through the years.
    Until recently, I was always under the impression that a Saltwater tank was too difficult to maintain and therefore had stayed away from it. However that all changed when my wife got tired of seeing the empty aquarium and said she wanted a "Nemo" tank.
    Since my wife rarely asks about getting any kind of fish, I jumped on it and have been doing almost non - stop research for about a month now. I am a very big believer in doing my homework before even putting any water in the tank. I have been reading back issues of Reefkeeper and Advanced Aquarist while looking at a ton of DIY sites and anything I can think of. I have been drooling over all the different types of coral, especially the Softies.
    Right now, I have a 55 gallon glass aquarium, and thats about it. Money is a little tight as I got married this year and no OT available at work, but i can be patient and work on building it piece by piece. Meanwhile, I am planning like crazy.
    Thanks for providing a local resource to the newbie reefkeepers.
    Jeremy

2. REEFer Madness

REEFer Madness Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS and I'm glad to see another come in from the QC area.