1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

My Future (and first) Tank

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Twill, Dec 29, 2007.

1. Twill

Twill Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi everybody! I'm new to SW and just trying to get as much info as possible as I start up my first tank! In case you missed it, I introduced myself in a thread in the Welcome forum, so I'll let that speak for itself: http://www.greateriowareefsociety.org/site/Community/DiscussionForums/tabid/78/forumid/13/postid/4355/view/topic/Default.aspx
    On to the tank:
    Display:
    I keep going back and forth on whether I want a 29g or a 20long. Since they have the same footprint, the stand I am going to buy from PetSmart will work for them both. At times I think the 20 will be easier to manage at make attractive, but I'd also like to just go for it with the 29 (which really isn't all that much bigger, and would give a little more wiggle room). Any helpful opinions on this?
    Stand:
    I finally found a stand I like at PetSmart (I think the stand has been the hardest element of this to find! So many of them don't leave any space for a sump of much size, and I didn't want to build my own stand). It's a nice-looking dark wood finish stand. I will have to do a little modification to it, because it has plenty of space underneath, but there is a central support wall running from front to back which pretty much ruins my ability to put a sump of any size in it. I'll be leaving out that central support when I put the stand together, but augmenting the tank's stability with additional supports of my own (that leave plenty of floor space for a sump!).
    Sump: