1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Low PH High Calcium Problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rverbeck, Feb 14, 2008.

1. rverbeck

rverbeck Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

Well, I am having a problem. I am new to corals first of all. My problem is that my PH is low 7.6ish and my Calcium is high 500ish. So here is some info:
    75 gallon tank
    PC lighting
    Uv sterilizer
    Mechanical Filtration
    Back Pak protien Skimmer
    About 60 Lbs live rock
    2 power heads in tank for movement
    (heres the info you said to provide Anna)
    I use Coralife sea salt
    I do water changes once every two week after letting my salt/water mix 2 days
    I use RO/DI water that I just purchased and have only had the unit itself about 2 months
    I dose Kent Marine coral-vite 1 x per week 2 teaspoons
    My testing kit is API
    I test for Calcium, Nitrates, Nitrites, PH, Amonnia ( I can bet I need to start testing my Alk)
    I test right after I get off work wich is about 6:30-7pm after the lights have been on all day.
    This is about all the info I know to provide to everyone. If you have any suggestions, please feel free, I'd be more than happy to take any help I can get.
    OH and my Nitrates are between 0-5 ppm Nitrites 0 Ammonia 0.
    Thanks,
    Ryan

2. Lee

Lee Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Alk and Magnesium would help. Your low PH might be from a build up of CO2. This is typical in the winter time when there is poor ventilation in the house. Try aiming a powerhead at the surface to try and aerate the water a little better. Other ideas would be to stop breathing in the house /site/DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/_default/emoticons/wink.gif

3. Travis

Travis Well-Known ReefKeeper GIRS Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0