1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Lid or No Lid

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bobsfish, Apr 14, 2009.

1. bobsfish

bobsfish Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I'm new to saltwater...so go easy on me. I've had freshwater tanks for many years, but recently took the jump into salt. I started up a 60gallon tank - it has a 260w Current Orbit compact flourescent, an AquaC Remora hang-on protein skimmer, and about 520gph of circulation from the filter and rotating power head. I put 60lbs of dry rock in the tank - some from Eco Rox online and some locally that came from a prior reef tank. I used Aragomax for the substrate. To jump start the bio, I put in 3lbs of cured rock and 5 lbs of live sand from Sea of Marvels. I recently put in a clownfish. I have a couple of questions that I'm hoping to get some help with....
    1) How soon would it be recommended to put put in a cleanup crew, or other crustaceans?
    2) How soon would it be recommended to put in any soft corals?
    3) I currently have a glass lid on the tank. The LFS where I bought it said that I will lose a lot of water from evaporation without it, which I'm sure is true. I don't have a RO unit, so buying water would get pricey if I had to top-off every day. I know the lid will get some salt collection and filter some of my light....but, if cleaned the lid once or twice a week, would that still work ok for soft corals?
    Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. Bob

2. mralanjones

mralanjones Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I am also new to the hobby. I have had both a lid and not. I prefer not to have a lid so I don't have to clean it.  I have a 55 gallon and have to top off about a gallon every two to three days.

3. dzabler

dzabler Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0