1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

It`s coming alive

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Guest, Jul 22, 2008.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This is my first attempt at Salt Water. I'll be soon setting up a 72 gallon tank, I have the tank already, but curing my live rock in a 55 gallon I have extra from when I had fresh water fish.

I've been keeping an eye on these two tubes that are growing right next to each other. They shot about two weeks ago, but seemed to have stalled. I rotated my live rock today and noticed more growth. I've been noticing purple algae, which have been spotty the last week and growing. But these new reddish brown bumps have been regrowing exactly where previous death and decaying are still happening. There's a patch on two different pieces of rock. And some sponge like growth.

Sorry about the bad pics, I only have a Cannon SD. But this shot is of those reddish brown bumps. I haven't checked through my books yet to figure out exactly what it is.
    [​IMG]

Here's that sponge growing right in the center of the pic.
    [​IMG]

2. calebjk Well-Known ReefKeeper

Cedar Rapids IA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    congrats on taking the jump to sw. i set up my 1st saltwater tank 20 months ago and now my house is full of them. i took the plunge and went straight into reef too and am very glad i skipped the fo thing. i'm also glad you found us early on. this is a great club and the people are very helpful, even though you've had 20 views on your post and no replies.... nudge.