1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Introduction - David Haldane

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by David Haldane, Feb 18, 2019.

1. David Haldane New User

Davenport, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Hello all,

I am a prior freshwater hobbyist who is new to saltwater. My fiance and I recently moved to the Quad Cities from Chicago and I am celebrating the increase in housing space (and decrease in housing costs!) with a saltwater tank! I am in the process of bringing up a 57 gallon Deep Blue rimless with a 20 gallon sump. I work as a software developer and am particularly interested in smart aquarium monitoring and DIY. I look forward to participating in the GIRS!

2. DangerJ Well-Known ReefKeeper

Des Moines, IA
    Ratings:
    +322 / 4 / -0
    Welcome to the community!

3. Roman Experienced Reefkeeper

Cedar Rapids, IA
    Ratings:
    +321 / 3 / -0
    Welcome David!! You are lucky to be living where you are. A couple of real nice fish stores in your area.

4. LighthouseGal

LighthouseGal

Ratings:
    +98 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to GIRS..

5. isufishtank

Ames, IA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Hi and welcome to GIRS! I am a Software Engineering major at ISU and am currently working on a DIY controller. If you like doing more electrical work you can use an arduino and buy a wifi shield or buy and arduino with wifi embedded which is what I did. The other option is Reef-Pi, which uses a raspberry pi and is completely open source! I opted for the arduino route because I wanted to write all of my own code (and brush up on my C) as well as learn as much as possible while I did it!

6. David Haldane New User

Davenport, Iowa
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0