1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Intro, Questions, Thank you`s

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Guest, Mar 27, 2008.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello all,

My name is Brian, and I am a student at UNI.

Have kept plenty of fresh, and most notably brackish Green Spot Puffers.

Started a 30 gallon reef round January. Contents include Ocellaris, Six Line, Fire Fish, Hermits, Turbos, Watchman and Pistol Shrimp. and a small zoa frag (getting a bunch at swap)

Please forgive the bio load, i dilligently change the water, and watch levels. QUESTIONS 1.) I have certain types of bubble and hair algae that grow during the day but then are wiped out by the morning. the algae never has a chance to get big. I have observed many small slug like things, small snails, pods, bristleworms, on the rocks at night munching on all of it. Is this pattern desirable? normal? 2) What is the best feeding schedule for the tanks inhabitants? right now im alternating daily between formula one and cyclopeeze (frozen). I'm not even sure on quantities, i just feed what is munched in five mins. (newb. 3) A few pieces of my rock came w/ orange encrusting sponge, which seems to be dying off, how do i care for this stuff?

THANK YOU's, to Xroads,and waverz for the wonderful LR, (loaded w/ critters, feathers, sponges, you guys were both great w/ my questions too.

EQUIPMENT, 30g AGA, 130w CF, Aquafuge PS/2 (skimmer/fuge), AC 50 (carbon, sponge) Jager 150, Koralia 1, Sweeping PH 450 gph.

How do i make paragraph breaks? hehe.

2. slovan

slovan Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Brian, glad you found us and welcome to GIRS! You should post your questions in the General (Hobby related) forum so that more eyes will see them.

It sounds like you have hair algae and your snails are doing a good job of keeping it in check, it's a good thing.