1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Hair Algae in Frag Tank

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Troy, Jul 10, 2009.

1. Troy

Troy Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

I am starting to get quite a bit of hair algae in my frag tank.   NOT GOOD  I thought about moving one of my tangs but since its only a 20 long, it wouldn't have any swimming room. I do have a emerald grab in there but its not doing its job every well.   Anyone know a better way of getting rid of hair algae.  

2. AJ

AJ Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Are you still seeing the problem where you're experiencing slow chaeto growth?

3. slovan

slovan Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Do you use white egg crate? I have read it can cause hair algae but I have no personal experience with it. Or you could try some Mexican turbo snails...they'll eat all the hair algae you have. The downside is that they are notorious for knocking frags over.

4. Waverz

Waverz Expert Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I had HA in my frag tank forever, not really sure why, i have tried emerald crabs, snails, manually pulling the stuff, i even had a $500 skimmer in the darn thing and it just wouldn't go away. I was even using black egg crate, and I am not sure if i'll ever know why it was so bad in there but it has finally subsided. One thing it could have been is excess CO2 from my CA reactor along with the 10k bulb I have hanging over it. It's weird though because neither of those have changed but the HA went away.

5. Troy

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0