1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Does anybody own a LED based fixture?

Discussion in 'Quad Cities Area' started by David, Jun 23, 2009.

1. David

David Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My tank is right on the edge as far as heat problems go.  I'm constantly running into problems because of the large amounts of metal halide lights I have.  I would like to build a LED based fixture, and maybe design a DIY reef controller (I'm an embedded systems engineer as far as making a living goes), but I really need to see an existing fixture to imitate because I don't want to have to buy all the spectrum analysis equipment it would take to test the system or go through multiple instances of diodes and lenses until I get the right mix.
    The markup on the fixtures that are on the market is huge, I'm confident I can build one for scratch for less than the cost of my halide systems.  Plus, I have a hood and my lights are built in and I don't really want to get rid of it to use a fixture.  Anyway... would be a fun DIY project don't you think?
    David

2. REEFer Madness

REEFer Madness Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I think Rick, (aka B-Rad) was thinking of doing some LED thing.

I thought about getting a panel from Menards, it's not very big, but it was only 25 bucks to try on my sump, but they go by volts instead of watts on the package. I no nearly nothing about electrical, so I didn't get it.

Joe, (Greenonion) told me there's a new LED lighting out that has a knob so you can control the kelvin rating as you wish through out the day.

Cyberjester has a solaris, but it's collecting dust. I believe he siad it wasn't strong enough for some of his sps.

3. snowman82

snowman82 Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    want to try to make your own LED here ya go full list or pieces and everything good build thread  DIY LED's