1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Canister Filters

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bela, Jul 19, 2009.

1. Bela

Bela Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Looking at what kind of canister filter to get for my 150 build. I am new to canister filters (as in I have never used one) so I have no idea what to get. Any suggestions (with reasons why you like them) would be ghreat.[script removed]

2. xroads Veteran Reefkeeper Vendor

La Porte City, IA
    Ratings:
    +1,014 / 6 / -0
    I dont have a really good answer.

I have been looking for one too. I seen one that had a pleated filter on the outside & a place to put carbon on the inside.

3. gb387

gb387 Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    One question... Do you have a sump?

4. jtesdall

jtesdall Expert Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Second question: Why do you want one?

5. snowman82

snowman82 Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I third the Second question. they can be handy to run from time to time to help polish the water and what not but really not a neccesity (sp) just a nitrate trap to continue to run all the time. and YES YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE A SUMP!!! even if you say no you are going to have one :) haha i will actually be having my 55 available soon

6. gb387

gb387 Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Posted By jtesdall on 07/20/2009 03:05 PM
    Second question: Why do you want one?
    That is kind of where I was going...  now that I have a sump over a canister filter/HOB I would never look back.  Great place for a filter sock and really any media you might want to run.

7. Bela

Bela Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0