1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Beginner Corals

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Guest, Oct 19, 2008.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi - I am fairly new to marine fish keeping (20+ years off and on with freshwater, and a couple early attempts at saltwater).  I am curious about what you all would recommend as good beginner corals to try - if anything does particularly well in QC water and with what I currently have in the tank?  Any other considerations I may need would be appreciated.  As for the tank, it is a 46 gallon with a flourescent light, skimmer, powerfilter, powerhead for circulation, 45-50lbs live rock, fish: 2 false percula clown, 2 bangaii cardninals, mandarin dragonet (eats frozen brine shrimp and bloodworms) and a firefish goby.  The tank also has around 45 blue legged hermit crabs, a coral banded shrimp, several turbo snails, astrea snails, and narcissus snails. 
    Thank you for any information you can proivide. 
    BC

2. phishcrazee Experienced Reefkeeper

Riverside
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Well, it shouldn't matter what type of water is in your local area, as you should already be using RODI water in your tank. Iowa has terribly high phosphate in the water, in general, and I certainly wouldn't want to add that to my tank, not to mention whatever else (chlorine in city water)!