1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Back at it - hello everyone!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Sink_or_Swim, Jan 19, 2022.

1. Sink_or_Swim

Waukee, IA
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I guess I'll introduce myself. :)

upload_2022-1-19_10-58-35.gif

I live in the Des Moines area and have a 7 year old son (who I'd love to get into the hobby!), 2 dalmatians, a mini dachshund, and an old cat. Gave my freshwater tank to my dad when I moved 4 years ago, so about time to start up a new one - really want to attempt a reef tank. I work for a financial planning firm, and when not at the office, I enjoy spending time with my family, my dogs, kayaking, live concerts, and obviously fishkeeping.

upload_2022-1-19_10-58-35.gif

I'm new to setting up a saltwater tank myself, but not new to fishkeeping in general (my dad introduced me to the hobby when I was 5 years old and I've kept various freshwater fish ever since, so 30+ years). We had a 55 gallon FOWLR tank when I was younger and I was always mesmerized by it. My job was helping test the water and feeding the anemones. We had yellow tangs, damsels, angelfish, clownfish, a wrasse or two, shrimp, and my absolute favorite - a foxface rabbitfish.

I recently decided I want to attempt a reef tank. Planning to start with beginner softies and maybe some LPS, and a pair of designer clownfish (yes, all aboard the designer clown train, lol). I HOPE, because I do have a lot of experience with fish and tank upkeep in general, that some of that knowledge will translate over to success with saltwater... but I suppose I'll find out soon enough!

Currently still setting everything up:
    Fluval Flex Sea 32.5 gallon tank (Have made some upgrades to the stock filtration), with Tropic Eden sand and CaribSea LifeRock. Using Tropic Marin Classic salt. Also setting up a 10 gallon QT.