1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

anyone kept carnation coral?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by snowman82, Mar 13, 2009.

1. snowman82

snowman82 Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Well my fiance stopped by the LFS to get me some snails, and she came back with some coral too, cause well, it was pink and pretty.  she didn't know the name of it but after looking around on the net i think its a type of carnation soft coral.  and is said to be kept by expert aquarist.  My tank has only been up and going for about 2 months or so now.  just wondering if anyone has kept them and how well they have done and what they have done to keep them alive.
    Chris

2. AJ

AJ Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have no experience with them, but I was reading an article on them a while back and it was indicating that the author was not aware of anyone that had kept them alive in captivity for more than 1 year. They require very regular target feeding, low light and medium flow. Not to be all doom and gloom, but your chances don't look good. Good luck!

3. Eric Experienced Reefkeeper

West Des Moines, IA
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    Posted By snowman82 on 03/13/2009 09:27 PM
    Well my fiance stopped by the LFS to get me some snails, and she came back with some coral too, cause well, it was pink and pretty.  she didn't know the name of it but after looking around on the net i think its a type of carnation soft coral.  and is said to be kept by expert aquarist.  My tank has only been up and going for about 2 months or so now.  just wondering if anyone has kept them and how well they have done and what they have done to keep them alive.
    Chris
    Chris,