1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Anybody in Urbandale use tap water with any problems?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mnvikes, Oct 29, 2009.

1. mnvikes

mnvikes Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I'm a newbie trying to avoid RODI costs if possible, just wondering if anyone has had any major issues using Urbandale water or with some dechlorinating drops if its good enough to use

2. Waverz

Waverz Expert Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I hate to say this, but if the RODI water is making the budget tight you might wanna reconsider doing a saltwater tank. Using tapwater is gonna lead to nothing but headaches.

There are a lot of reefers in your area, if it were me I would ask around and see if someone could help you out with some water until you can figure out another option.

3. Gered

Gered Experienced Reefkeeper

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    What size tank are you running? If it is small enough someone in the area will probably be able to help you with water for water changes. Or if you could swing 100-150 on a unit I would check out Air, Water, and Ice. They are a sponsor here and if you are a member you get a 10% discount. I have worked with them quite a few times and always pleased to help you out. If you see anything let me know because I will most likely be putting in an order soon when I hear back from them on a few things.

4. cowdust9

cowdust9 Well-Known ReefKeeper

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    i used to use tap water and i could grow everything but lps and sps and now i use the big Culligan water jugs that you can fill at walmart and now i have no issues with any corals and for the fist time im my reef life i am able to grow sps in a nano

5. mnvikes

mnvikes Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Posted By Gered on 10/29/2009 01:30 PM