1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

1 big fest a year or 2 small ones?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Nik, Mar 26, 2012.

1. Nik Experienced Reefkeeper

Windsor Heights
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0

The idea of having 1 big show or fest each year instead of 2 small ones is being discussed. What does every-one think.

Vote now.

2. ruggerkc Experienced Reefkeeper Board of Directors Leadership Team GIRS Member

North Liberty , IA
    Ratings:
    +183 / 3 / -0
    I like different locations. I would like to get one in our area again.

3. johnk183

Coralville
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

I think 2 fests are better.
    This is my 2 time at the Des Moines show.
    I am a newbie to GIRs and the fests give me a great opportunity to ask questions and meet others that enjoy this hobby.
    It is hard to find a store that has anywhere near the knowledge that this group has. I have had many offers of assistance and help. The learning curve is great in the beginning and these fests give everyone a chance to continue to learn and purchase from vendors that seem very knowledgeable and helpful. I would be disappointed to get this chance but once a year.
    I like the opportunity to attend the speakers and learn what in many cases did not know anything or very little about.
    The raffle seems like it has a lot of value for the $1 ticket price.

4. Big John

Big John Inactive User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Looks like 2 a year- I'm on Casey's page, time for Waterloo/CF to host one.Any ideas for the venue in our area Casey?

5. xroads Veteran Reefkeeper Vendor

La Porte City, IA
    Ratings:
    +1,014 / 6 / -0
    The reason we started having two a year was geographic location. At one a year, it always left people out. Now that we have two, most people can usually make at least one if not two. If we go back to one event a year, how are we going to determine where it is?