1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Advice? Test Kit Discrepancies

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by StormyMoe, Nov 25, 2017.

1. StormyMoe

Waukee
    Ratings:
    +50 / 0 / -0
    I've been using Salifert test kits for Mg and Ca for about 9 months now but picked up Red Sea's kit with Mg, Ca, and Alk from BRS this week while they were having their sale. Did my first tests with Red Sea today and was pleased to have the alk match between it and my Hanna, but the Mg and Ca readings are different between the tests. Red Sea has my Mg and Ca at 1520 and 400 respectively while Salifert is 1365 and 425; both Salifert kits are about 2 months old and aren't expired.

I did notice the Mg #3 solution from Red Sea has white "pieces" of something floating around in it, anyone know if this is normal? Everything in my tank is looking good minus a devil's hand whose polyps aren't fully extending but I've adjusted my flow to give it more and they seem to be out more frequently. Anyone else had similar experiences with these kits? I'd really like to avoid purchasing a 3rd kit...

2. blackx-runner Administrator Website Team Leadership Team

Cedar Rapids, IA
    Ratings:
    +738 / 5 / -0
    I wouldn't purchase a third kit, it won't help at all determining which one is correct.

My red sea test kit always tested real high in Mg. I never did think it was right. Didn't dose anything for Mg and the salt I was using shouldn't have been high in Mg. I switched to salifert and got better numbers so I just went with them LOL. Which one was "right"? I have no idea.

Unless you get some kind of standard solution to check your results against I don't know that there is anyway to tell which one is giving more accurate results. You could also send some water away for a test. I'm sure the equipment they use for those is much more accurate.

3. Waterrat41 Addicted Reefer GIRS Member

Des moines