1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Advice? New Setup Questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mruck79, Feb 27, 2018.

1. mruck79

Urbana
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I have recently started my first saltwater setup. I am not new to fish keeping, but I am new to saltwater. I have been researching and collecting supplies for about 8 years and I finally have made the jump. My tank has been set up for about 2 weeks at this point. So far everything seems to be going well. I have what appears to be a lot of diatom on the rock, circulation pumps, and sand. From what I understand this is a good sign. I had some in the water column, but I ran some poly filter to clean that out. My Ammonia and nitrite have not really spiked like I had expected, and I have just recently seen a nitrate jump. There are so many resources out there, but also so many that conflict that it is hard for someone with limited experience to know what is the best way. I don't really want to take to many risks with my first go round.
    Set up is as follows.
    Current Parameters -
    Ammonia - 0 PPM (Highest has been 2)
    Nitrite - 2 PPM
    Nitrate - 15-20 PPM This just recently jumped
    PH - 7.8 -8
    Temp 79.5
    65 gallon main tank
    20 gallon sump/refugium with about 12 gallons of water
    2-2 1/2 5 gallon pails of man made dry rock. - 1 - 3" piece of live rock
    2" of aragonite sand in main tank and 12x12 area of the sump
    4 - 800 GPH Circulation Powerheads
    500 GPH return pump
    DIY - PVC overflow - I built a 12" skimmer bar intake to skim the top of the water
    Wifi - LED Light it is an off brand - I figured it was OK to start with only fish and rock
    Questions:
    1. Is the diatom truly a good sign? What should I expect next?
    2. What should I plan for my next step after cycling? Clean up crew (what types)? Macro Algae?