1. Do you have an old account but can't access it?

See Accessing your GIRS Account or Contact Us - We are here to help!

Hi from Taco (a little about myself)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Fort Dodger, Apr 20, 2017.

1. Hi from Taco​

Personal information
    I'm in North Central Iowa, and my friends call me Taco. Heck even my Dad calls me Taco. LOL. I am a full time student and I work too. I am married and my wife enjoys the tank. She has a $10 coral banded shrimp that eats small designer clowns. He is going take a long vacation in the sump when I catch him.

Past setup
    I started with tropical fish and ended up moving over to Ranchu instead, since I like their personality. I used to breed Japanese Ranchu and kept a few Philadelphia Veils. I used to be a member of the Goldfish Society of America, and had a lot of tanks, raised my own live food cultures, etc. For those of you who aren't into goldfish, I've posted a couple of pics below of some nice Japanese Ranchu (not to be confused with the Chinese Ranchu or lionheads) from the same bloodlines that I had, and of some original strain veiltails from the same bloodlines that I had. I ended up losing all of them due to cruel and vindictive person who killed them all, so I took a break from the hobby for a few years. I figured I'd try getting back into it, but with a reef tank this time. 95% weekly water changes were just getting to be too much, but some day I'd like to set up one Ranchu tank and go with one of the newer American strains (see pic below).

Current setup